DEUTSCH |  ENGLISH |  FRANÇAIS |

The Unifying Aspects of Cultures

SECTION:

Socially Acceptable Sciences

Chair of the section/Suggestions, Abstracts, Papers to:
Email: Michael Strähle (Vienna)

ABSTRACT: Public trust in scientists is declining, criticism of the sciences is increasing even from within and the importance of the sciences for politics is dwindling. The media are already bringing out controversies over new scientific results and technologies. What are the social tasks of the sciences? This question is being asked more and more frequently. Politics thus is confronted with the responsibility of bringing the forced economic utilization of scholarly knowledge into harmony with the expected ecological and social compatibility of the sciences. In view of this situation, to believe that scientific knowledge, above all in the Natural Sciences and Technology, originates uninfluenced by special interests, seems singularly naive.

How do we envision socially compatible science? How is it organized and institutionally integrated?

The claim of the sciences is total. Making life scientific - and by this means delegating it to professionals - leads to the loss of knowledge of practical life (Gernot Böhme). How much science do we need? What scientific approaches are there to avoid this colonization of the world of life? Methodological arguments cannot show that the sciences are superior to other traditions, nor can one privilege the sciences over other traditions on the basis of their results (Paul Feyerabend). The sciences are only a bundle of forms of knowledge among others. What role could be given to the sciences? Can scientific knowledge be combined with other forms of knowledge without dominating them? What epistemological and methodological consequences would a non-comprehensive claim of the sciences have?.

In the meantime there is a series of measures, initiatives and proposals such as, for example, consensus conferences, science shops, expanded Peer Review and the inclusion of consumers in research projects, which have to do with fostering the social compatibility of the sciences by the participation of people who are not members of the scientific community. Is participation really being practiced here or are special interests being involved? Are the non-science people viewed as partners or as supplicants? How will the social compatibility be presented?

Many of the initiatives that make an effort to carry out socially compatible science move to the margin or outside of the scientific realm, if they do not remain invisible. Apparently social compatibility is not inherent in the field of science. What prevents socially compatible sciences?

The universities are no longer the sole places, which evaluate whether knowledge is scientific or not, that is to say: whether the knowledge has been gained in a legitimate way. The manner of maintaining discipline over the forms of knowledge is changing. What new forms of oversight have been introduced? In what relationship do they stand to the demanded social compatibility of the sciences?

CONTRIBUTIONS FOR SECTIONS

THE UNIFYING ASPECTS OF CULTURES

DEUTSCH |  ENGLISH |  FRANÇAIS |

Das Verbindende der Kulturen

SEKTION:

Sozialverträgliche Wissenschaftskulturen

Leitung der Sektion/Anmeldung von Referaten bei:
Email: Michael Strähle (Wien)

ABSTRACT: Das öffentliche Vertrauen in WissenschaftlerInnen schwindet, die Kritik an den Wissenschaften nimmt auch von innen her zu und die Bedeutung der Wissenschaften für die Politik nimmt ab. Die Medien machen bereits mit Kontroversen um neue wissenschaftliche Ergebnisse und Technologien auf. Was sind die gesellschaftlichen Aufgaben der Wissenschaften? Diese Frage wird immer häufiger gestellt. Die Politik steht somit vor der Aufgabe, die forcierte wirtschaftliche Nutzung wissenschaftlichen Wissens mit der erwarteten ökologischen und sozialen Verträglichkeit der Wissenschaften in Einklang zu bringen. Angesichts dieser Lage mutet der Glaube, wissenschaftliches Wissen, vor allem naturwissenschaftliches und technisches, entstehe unbeeinflusst von Interessen, seltsam naiv an.

Wie haben wir uns sozial verträgliche Wissenschaft vorzustellen? Wie ist sie organisiert und institutionell eingebettet?

Der Anspruch der Wissenschaften ist total. Die Verwissenschaftlichung von Lebensvollzügen - und damit deren Delegierung an Fachleute - führt zum Verlust von lebensweltlichem Wissen (Gernot Böhme). Wieviel Wissenschaft brauchen wir? Welche wissenschaftlichen Zugänge gibt es, diese Kolonisierung der Lebenswelt zu vermeiden? Methodologische Argumente können nicht zeigen, dass die Wissenschaften anderen Traditionen überlegen sind, noch kann man die Wissenschaften ihrer Ergebnisse wegen vor anderen Traditionen auszeichnen (Paul Feyerabend). Die Wissenschaften sind nur ein Bündel von Wissensformen unter anderen. Welche Rolle könnte den Wissenschaften zukommen? Kann wissenschaftliches Wissen mit anderen Wissensformen sich verbinden ohne diese zu dominieren? Welche epistemologischen und methodologischen Konsequenzen hätte ein nichtumfassender Anspruch der Wissenschaften?

Mittlerweile gibt es eine Reihe von Maßnahmen, Initiativen und Vorschlägen wie beispielsweise Konsensuskonferenzen, Wissenschaftsläden, erweiterte Peer Review und die Einbeziehung von KonsumentInnen in Forschungsprojekte, denen darum zu tun ist, die soziale Verträglichkeit der Wissenschaften durch die Mitbestimmung von BürgerInnen zu fördern, die nicht dem wissenschaftlichen Bereich angehören. Wird hier wirklich Mitbestimmung praktiziert oder werden Interessen in den Dienst genommen? Werden die BürgerInnen als PartnerInnen oder Bedürftige gesehen? Wie wird die soziale Verträglichkeit präsentiert?

Viele der Initiativen, die sich um sozial verträgliche Wissenschaftskulturen bemühen, bewegen sich am Rande oder außerhalb des Wissenschaftsbereiches, wenn sie nicht unsichtbar bleiben. Augenscheinlich ist dem wissenschaftlichen Bereich soziale Verträglichkeit nicht inhärent. Was steht sozialverträglichen Wissenschaftskulturen entgegen?

Die Universitäten sind nicht länger die alleinigen Orte, an denen bewertet wird, ob Wissen wissenschaftlich, soll heißen: rechtmäßig zustande gekommen ist. Die Disziplinierung der Wissensformen ändert sich. Welche neuen Formen der Disziplinierung sind entstanden? In welchem Verhältnis stehen diese zur verlangten sozialen Verträglichkeit der Wissenschaften?

DAS VERBINDENDE DER KULTUREN